Lenormand Musings – The Daily Draw

8

December 17, 2008 by Art of Cartomancy

I used to have a difficult time interpreting my Lenormand daily card draws because I would try to make more of them than was actually there. 

I’ve since discovered that my daily draws don’t usually reveal an event or experience about to take place in my life.  (Events and experiences show up in the readings I do for myself.) 

My daily draws almost never refer to someone other than myself.

Most often they simply reflect whatever psychological struggle may be going on in my mind at the present moment.

For example, here is today’s Lenormand daily three-card draw:

 

  • 13 The Child
  • 07 The Snake
  • 21 The Mountain

An Unruly Child?

The most obvious interpretation of today’s cards is “a problem child.”  The Mountain could suggest some developmental problems. 

It is possible that I’ll run into a problem today dealing with a child, but it’s not very likely.

Making a Mountain from a Molehill?

What is much more likely is that the Child + Snake represents “a small problem in my life.”  The Mountain shows that I’m allowing this small problem to obstruct my progress in some way. 

In some area of my life, I am giving a small problem much more weight than it merits.  In essence, I’m making a mountain from a molehill. 

This is an interpretation I can apply to my life since I admit to sometimes allowing  my problems to overwhelm me.  The advice is good.  Today I need to be aware  not to overreact to a minor problem.  Something I perceive as a major issue, may not be as overwhelming as it appears.

Can the Daily Draws be Predictive?

Yes, If  I need to be made aware of something important going on behind the scenes that day, or forewarned of something drastic about to happen to me or someone I love,  the warning can be reflected in my daily draw.  Most of the time, my life is just not that interesting.

That’s just the way the daily draws work for me.  For some readers, daily draws will reflect the drama of their daily lives, or perhaps the plot of a book they’re reading, or the theme of a movie they’ll see that day.  For many readers the daily draws consistently point toward something just over the horizon.  For me, they reflect my internal struggles to make sense of the events in my daily world.

8 thoughts on “Lenormand Musings – The Daily Draw

  1. phoenixoracle says:

    Hi Aristede,

    I like reading about peoples musings with the cards, and I have to admit that alot of my daily readings are just as you have described, themes to books, movies, conversations etc, so now I’m not bothering to do daily readings with the lenormand in particular because they manifest so quickly, I don’t even have time to write it up, there is just no more fun in that, only when I do readings now, it shows more meaningful themes. I’m actually enjoying spreads that have a certain position, it seems easier to make sense of it with just one card to each position, rather than trying to read it as a combination or in a line.

    I’m also enjoying combining the lenormand with tarot and playing cards, just to get a different feel for them.

    The fun is in trying different ways so not to get bored. Although it is always to have that one method, that we’re familliar with, when getting down to the serious business!! I think at the end of the day, I will probably always revert back to the “no layout” when requiring to answer a question.

    Phoenix

  2. lenormand36 says:

    Hi Phoenix,

    I remember Sylvie mentioned at one point that the Lenormand cards were not really meant to be used for daily draws, and that although it was a good way to start out learning the cards, it could lead to confusion and frustration. That is exactly what happened to me. When I gave up on the daily draws, and focused instead on answering specific questions, the Lenormand finally clicked for me.

    I’ve been enjoying your explorations with using Lenormand with playing cards and Tarot on your blog, and also Spiritsong has done some fantastic readings combining different oracle cards too. It’s something I haven’t tried yet, but I plan to in the future.

    Yes, the No Layout is a good friend because it never fails me. 🙂

  3. Kiki says:

    Hi Aristede! Can you tell me what deck you have featured in this post? I quite like the image of the Mountain, and would love to see more of the cards, if they can be found anywhere online.

    Thanks!
    Kiki

  4. lenormand36 says:

    Hi Kiki,

    I’m sorry, I should have mentioned the deck. It’s the Nieuwe Lenormand Waarzegkaarten by Erna Droesbeke. It’s published by Amber Studio in Belgium.

    There’s a book that goes with the deck, but since I don’t read Dutch I didn’t think it would do me much good. 🙂

    Here’s a link to a few more images:

    http://www.schors.nl/nonbook/cgnewlen.html

    I haven’t seen images of the full deck displayed anywhere, and I’m not sure where you can find them in the US. I got my deck from a trade on ATF.

    Aristede

  5. Kiki says:

    Thank you so much Aristede. It’s hard to find ANY Lenormand decks in the US, let alone one that is rarely spoken of. I’ll go poking around online later and see what I can find.

    Thanks again, I appreciate it!
    Kiki

  6. Nina says:

    I just recently found your blog and I really like it. For now I’ll especially thank you for this post… I so needed to realize what you said here.
    Great!!!

    xxx

    • lenormand36 says:

      Hi Nina,

      Thanks for dropping by! 🙂

      I’m glad you found this post helpful! I won’t deny that the daily draws are a great way to learn the card meanings, but they ended up causing me so much frustration. I actually gave up the Lenormand cards altogether for a while because I was so frustrated that the daily draws never seemed to materialize like they did for other people. I still don’t use them very often, but when I do they always make sense to me now.

  7. Ruthless70 says:

    Hi,I am new to this site & wanted to share with everyone,how much I enjoy my Lenormand cards.I have the red owl set,although am missing number 24 The Heart card.If anyone has one,pls..I cherish my cards dearly,I turn to them always..

Leave a Reply

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Categories

Reading Lenormand

Explorations with the Lenormand Oracle Cards

NéosFortune

I am the knowledge of my inquiry and the finding of those who seek after me – The Thunder, Perfect Mind

Art of Cartomancy

Fortune Telling with Playing cards

Reading La Vera Sibilla

Explorations with the Sibilla Oracle Cards

gareallen.wordpress.com/

Official Site of Author Gare Allen

Chanah's Cards

A Lenormand Blog

Season

Wisdom through Cartomancy, Astrology, Numerology and I Ching

WORLD PROPHECIES

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Lacontessa's Musings

A place to share that which occurs (or not) between my ears...

The Lenormand Oracle

Reading with the Lenormand Cards

The Card Lover

Just another WordPress.com weblog

"fate keeps on happening"

"Going to the fortune teller's was just as good as going to the opera, and the cost scarcely a trifle more - ergo, I will disguise myself and go again, one of these days, when other amusements fail." - Mark Twain, Letter to Orion Clemens, February 6, 1861

The Gloss Fox Tales

A Guide to an Exquisite Life

Jase on Cards

Cartomantic Detective: Exploring tarot and other oracle decks.

