The Lenormand Moon

4

May 2, 2008 by Art of Cartomancy

I think if I had to choose a favorite Lenormand card, it would be a toss up between The Tower and The Moon. This morning I was bored by the idea of pulling a three card draw, so instead I decided to record some of my musings about the Lenormand Moon.

In my readings, the Moon represents feelings and emotions.  It indicates imagination, creativity and artistic ability.  It denotes sensitivity, intuition and psychic ability.

The moon represents femininity and the female gender. It indicates the night time, and nocturnal dreams. For questions about timing, the moon shows that an event will occur ‘soon,’ usually within one month.

I think my favorite aspect of the Moon card is that it can be used in a very practical way as a gender marker. When it falls with the Child, the Moon indicates a female child. With the Bear, it could represent the querent’s mother or grandmother.  With the Tree, it could point to female problems.

The Moon with the Heart or the Ring, adds a touch of romance.  With the Man or Woman, it reveals a sensitive, romantic nature.  And with the book, it can represent occult teachings.

In my own readings, I’ve found that the Moon often reveals where the querent’s emotions are invested.  It can reveal who or what the querent cares most about, and it’s one of the first cards I look for in a spread.

A Few More Moon Combinations that work for me:

Moon + Fox = the night shift, moonlighting.
Moon + Coffin = feeling numb.
Moon + Clouds = emotionally unstable
Moon + Garden = a night out on the town
Moon + Crossroads = fluctuating emotions 

4 thoughts on “The Lenormand Moon

  1. Phoenix Rising says:

    Hi Aristede

    Haven’t seen you post here for a long time, good that I checked it otherwise I would of missed that lovely “Moon” the moon brings up alot of those deep seated emotional feelings, that are expressed while dreaming. Then we wake up with some “hairbrained idea” that inspires us to start a new project some form of creativity perhaps, or just plain feeling mushy. It is a lovely card isn’t it?

    Phoenx

  2. Aristede says:

    Hi Phoenix,

    Yeah, I’ve not posted in a while, but I guess I was inspired by the moon. 🙂

    I love the Moon in the Lenormand deck because it doesn’t usually carry the negative connotations that it does in Tarot such as deception and intrigues.

    Aristede

  3. Sammie says:

    Hello Aristede,

    So glad I read this post on the Lenomand Moon. It has helped me understand the meaning of the Lenormand Moon much better. I have never really liked the Moon card in Lenormand just because I can’t get away from the meaning of the Tarot Moon. What a good idea it was of yours to write your musings on the cards! I’m going to write them down in a notebook because I think they are some of the most insightful things I’ve read about the Lenormand cards in a long time! Your combinations are great.

  4. Aristede says:

    Hi Sammie,

    I’m glad you enjoyed the post. 🙂

    My basic understanding of the card came from Sylvie Steinbach’s ‘The Secrets of the Lenormand Oracle,’ and I’ve grown from there through my own experiences and also incorporating ideas from other sources I’ve read. None of it is really original. 🙂

    Aristede

Leave a Reply

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Categories

Reading Lenormand

Explorations with the Lenormand Oracle Cards

NéosFortune

I am the knowledge of my inquiry and the finding of those who seek after me – The Thunder, Perfect Mind

Art of Cartomancy

Fortune Telling with Playing cards

Reading La Vera Sibilla

Explorations with the Sibilla Oracle Cards

gareallen.wordpress.com/

Official Site of Author Gare Allen

Chanah's Cards

A Lenormand Blog

Season

Wisdom through Cartomancy, Astrology, Numerology and I Ching

WORLD PROPHECIES

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Lacontessa's Musings

A place to share that which occurs (or not) between my ears...

The Lenormand Oracle

Reading with the Lenormand Cards

The Card Lover

Just another WordPress.com weblog

"fate keeps on happening"

"Going to the fortune teller's was just as good as going to the opera, and the cost scarcely a trifle more - ergo, I will disguise myself and go again, one of these days, when other amusements fail." - Mark Twain, Letter to Orion Clemens, February 6, 1861

The Gloss Fox Tales

A Guide to an Exquisite Life

Jase on Cards

Cartomantic Detective: Exploring tarot and other oracle decks.

