Lenormand Three Card Draw – Coffin + Lily + Tree

8

March 17, 2008 by Art of Cartomancy

This morning I drew three cards with a specific question in mind: “What do I need to be aware of today?”

08-30-05.png

  • 08 The Coffin
  • 30 The Lily
  • 05 The Tree

In a general sense, these cards show peace and contentment following a transformative experience that led to growth.  That’s nice, but a little vague, and more than a little fluffy.

If I look at the specifics, I can’t help but see a passing.  The combination of symbols: coffin, lily and tree scream funeral to me.  If I read the Lily as the key card, it can represent an older person, most likely a male.  Coffin + Lily represents old age, dying.  Lily + Tree shows ailments related to aging.  Coffin + Tree indicates a serious illness.  I’d say an older man will pass from an illness related to aging, or basically from old age.

In the past I would have read the Tree falling last as a good sign of improved health, and the sign of a serious illness over come, but I’m trying to use the center card as the key, and not rely on order or position.

Is there a more cheerful interpretation here that I’m missing?

8 thoughts on “Lenormand Three Card Draw – Coffin + Lily + Tree

  1. spiritsong says:

    I know what you mean, Aristede, but it could be describing a serious illness of an older male-
    (meaning you might have to deal with issues related to that in the next few days) or
    it could be describing that this older male is feeling seriously depressed. It’s not necessarily a death……..
    still tough though, sorry-

    SpiritsSong~

  2. Aristede says:

    Hi SpiritSong,

    Yes, thank you, that is just a little bit more cheerful. 🙂 I think I was being overly pessimistic. Deep depression could be affecting an older gentleman’s health.

    Aristede

  3. indianstorm says:

    Aristede- I don’t see it as passing- the Lily in the middle represents fulfilment and contentness. coffin+lily- transformation from a state of stagnation to a state of fulfillment or a sense of achievement commonly associated with a maturation process (getting older and wiser). Lily+tree suggest the transformation process is becoming more grounded/rooted therefore stronger in its conviction like a strong tree weathering all storms. Perhaps this is you changing.. 🙂 nothing bad here, it is all good I feel..

    Stormy

  4. Aristede says:

    Hi Stormy,

    Thank you. Your interpretation does make sense in terms of what I’m feeling about my own personal growth. I did consider the ‘transformation/growth’ idea, but it seems so fluffy, and I wanted to tag something more specific here.

    I guess fluffy is good sometimes. 🙂

    Aristede

  5. Aristede says:

    As an added note: I find it interesting that when I read for others, I always look for the positive, yet when I read for myself, I tend to be much more pessimistic. That is a lesson I need to work on. 🙂

  6. Sammie says:

    Hello Aristede,

    I think Stormy has a very good interpretation for this one. It looks very positive to me, too – peace and contentment and being happy with yourself will come through a transformation where you mature and grow and are more rooted and grounded.

    You know, I do the same thing – when I read for myself I always see something pessimistic and always see something positive in reading for others!

  7. phoenixoracle says:

    HI Aristede,

    Yeah I didn’t see it as negative at all. The lily being the key card would be talking about peace and serenity, something that has been a long time coming, due to the ending or transition of coffin before it. The tree at the end would then be restored health and vitality.

    Although if you saw the lily as the older person, then he could be going through a bit of a dark patch. but there are 2 positive cards and coffin(which is not necessarily a negative card either) is sitting before the cards so something is over it’s in the past, so there is nothing to worry about, just sit relax and revitalise as lily and tree suggest.

    Phoenix

  8. Aristede says:

    Hey Phoenix,

    Yeah, that’s the big question: whether or not the placement of the cards in the three card spread carry sequential significance. Sammie and Spiritsong were saying that it doesnt necessarily work out that way in their experiences.

    I’ve always been inclined to read them sequentially myself, based on my experience with Sylvie’s no layout system, and you’re right, the Tree falling last would indicate recovery, regrowth, etc.

    But now I’m trying to consider the center card as ‘key,’ and the other cards as modifiers with no set meaning based on position. So in that case, the Tree would not show things getting better just because it falls to the right.

    I guess in the end it will be a matter of trial and error to see which method works best for me. 🙂

    Aristede

Leave a Reply

March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Categories

Reading Lenormand

Explorations with the Lenormand Oracle Cards

NéosFortune

I am the knowledge of my inquiry and the finding of those who seek after me – The Thunder, Perfect Mind

Art of Cartomancy

Fortune Telling with Playing cards

Reading La Vera Sibilla

Explorations with the Sibilla Oracle Cards

gareallen.wordpress.com/

Official Site of Author Gare Allen

Chanah's Cards

A Lenormand Blog

Season

Wisdom through Cartomancy, Astrology, Numerology and I Ching

WORLD PROPHECIES

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Lacontessa's Musings

A place to share that which occurs (or not) between my ears...

The Lenormand Oracle

Reading with the Lenormand Cards

The Card Lover

Just another WordPress.com weblog

"fate keeps on happening"

"Going to the fortune teller's was just as good as going to the opera, and the cost scarcely a trifle more - ergo, I will disguise myself and go again, one of these days, when other amusements fail." - Mark Twain, Letter to Orion Clemens, February 6, 1861

The Gloss Fox Tales

A Guide to an Exquisite Life

Jase on Cards

Cartomantic Detective: Exploring tarot and other oracle decks.

