Three Card Draw – Scythe + Cross + Ship

6

March 13, 2008 by Art of Cartomancy

I drew three cards this morning with no specific question or issue in mind:

10-36-3.png

  • 10 The Scythe
  • 36 The Cross
  • 03 The Ship

My first impression of these cards, completely off the cuff, is that they indicate ‘a painful decision regarding a journey or move.’  A decision that brings sorrow, but also leads to forward movement.

A quick peak at Sylvie’s book reveals another equally ominous possibility for today’s cards.  The Scythe + Cross can indicate causing injury to oneself, or sacrifice, and  since the Scythe may specifically point to an accident, and the Ship can denote a car, this looks like a possible ‘fender bender.’  I’m hoping that this is nothing serious since the Ship falls last, and it’s basically a positive card.  If the Ship had preceded the other two cards, I would be much more worried about the outcome.

Perhaps these cards simply point to headaches due to some unexpected repairs needed for the car.  In any case, I’ll be particularly cautious driving today, and make sure I let all my friends know to be extra careful today too.

6 thoughts on “Three Card Draw – Scythe + Cross + Ship

  1. spiritsong says:

    Hi Aristede,
    I was drawn to the Cross/Ship combination which can mean wandering,or exile or pilgrimage.
    Could there be a sudden decision for someone to go “walkabout”? or want to go somewhere they think is significant for them, at this time?
    Just a clear cut decision,”I want to do this/go there…”

    just a thought-

    SpiritSong~

  2. Aristede says:

    Hi SpiritSong,

    I like your interpretation much better–like someone packpacking across Europe. I’ll let you know if anything like that comes up.

    Thank you,
    Aristede

  3. phoenixoracle says:

    Well there looks to be movement and leaving behind of something that I hope they won’t regret. But whatever it is it will be clear cut, and may come with some grief but will move on.

    Phoenix

  4. Aristede says:

    Hi Phoenix,

    yep, I think any way you cut it, the scythe/cross combo is going to be painful.

    Nothing has happened yet that I can pin this reading on, but we shall see…

    Aristede

  5. Sammie says:

    Sometimes, I interpret the scythe as work or work related issues – with this in mind these three cards could be interpreted as it will be your karma or destiny to have a work related move or work related trip.

  6. Aristede says:

    Hi Sammie,

    Welcome, and Thank you for the fresh perspective. I’ve never thought of the Scythe in terms of work, but it makes sense since it is a tool of labor.

    I learned to use the fox to represent work, and I know that some readers use the Anchor, and others use the Moon. I love the versatility of these cards!

    I will keep your interpretation in mind too and see what progresses. 🙂

    Aristede

Leave a comment

March 2008
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Categories

The Fortune Tellers Society

Walking the Path of Life, One Card at a Time

abCartomancy

Journal of a Fortune Teller

Diseurs de Bonne Aventure

Cartomancie classique

Reading Lenormand

Explorations with the Lenormand Oracle Cards

Reading La Vera Sibilla

Explorations with the Sibilla Oracle Cards

Chanah's Cards

A Lenormand Blog

Season

Wisdom through Cartomancy, Astrology, Numerology and I Ching

WORLD PROPHECIES

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Lacontessa's Musings

A place to share that which occurs (or not) between my ears...

The Lenormand Oracle

Reading with the Lenormand Cards

The Card Lover

Just another WordPress.com weblog

"fate keeps on happening"

"Going to the fortune teller's was just as good as going to the opera, and the cost scarcely a trifle more - ergo, I will disguise myself and go again, one of these days, when other amusements fail." - Mark Twain, Letter to Orion Clemens, February 6, 1861

The Gloss Fox Tales

A Guide to an Exquisite Life

Jase on Cards

Cartomantic Detective: Exploring tarot and other oracle decks.